top of page
  • veraquentrelle

Books

Updated: Jun 13, 2021

When I first started reading, the initial excitement and rush hyped me to read more books. When I finish a book in two or three days, I'll become crazy if I run out of books to read. Of course, buying books often are not advisable if you are not financially independent. Books can be expensive. Here are some options and websites I used to satisfy my thirst for stories.


Lending Libraries


One of the greatest options is the lending libraries. If I consider my capacity to read fast, I have to buy new books twice a month. Definitely not possible. Lending libraries saved me from the financial crisis and helped me maintain my reading habit at the same time. I became a member of the nearest library and borrowed books to read and quenched my thirst for stories. You can also request the book you want to read and offer a suggestion for the type of books to stock up in the library.


PS: Librarians are great at recommending books if you return the books on time as it is XD.


Wattpad


Maybe you heard about it, maybe not. Wattpad is a global platform connecting millions of readers and writers through the thirst for stories. I can say with the credulity that Wattpad has a story for everyone's taste. Housing thousands of aspiring and talented writers, Wattpad encourages everyone to tell their story. When my days are gloomy, I turn to Wattpad and it provides me with the perfect read to uplift my spirits. There are other online platforms but Wattpad provides stories in a wide variety of genres.


PS: Wattpad is appropriate for 16+ readers.


Used books


Pre-loved books are perfect ones to go to if we are down on monetary. Not to leave, they play a significant role in saving trees and support recycling to save our environment. There are several websites to buy second-hand books which offer substantial offers and safe shipping. Besides, some authentic Instagram pages sell pre-loved and new books at cool prices. The ones I often purchase from are:


Amazon: Quality over discount

Flipkart: Awesome discounts

Bookchor


Book Bundles:


If you find buying single books aren't cost-effective, several websites offer book bundles at affordable prices which is an exceptional way to save money and buy more books.


The one I often buy from is BookChor and a conversation about books cannot be without bringing up Bookchor. It offers pre-loved as well as new books. Every year, this bookstore conducts LocktheBox where customers can Lock a box from three boxes (fixed price) and buy as many books that fit into that box. Brilliant isn't it? Apart from this, you can also buy single books from Bookchor. Some other websites/shops which offer bundle sales of books are:


1.worthing. in

2.usedbookfactory

3.ssdnbookstore

4.twice_soldtales

5. 99bookcarts


Websites


You can also download books online for free or at a low cost. Despite a controversy that downloading pdfs are illegal, bookos still do it. Some argue that renowned libraries funding these websites. But authors are upset by these websites which offer pirated copies. Some websites offer authentic books So be careful XD. The websites I use often are:


  1. Project Gutenberg

  2. Free eBooks

  3. LibriVox (audiobooks)

  4. Open Library

  5. Bookbub (great offers)


Check out the suggestion that suits you and let me know if you have any other suggestions apart from this to afford books economically.


Happy Reading!


Love,

Vera.






Recent Posts

See All

Wattpad

Booktube

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page